Aughton Militia Lists: 1763-1781

The parish of Aughton lay within the Holme Beacon division of Harthill Wapentake in the East Riding. The Militia Lists for this division are held at the East Riding Record Office in Beverley, under reference LT/7/8. The Lists cover the period 1766 to 1831.

What was immediately noticeable was the very small number of those on the list who actually served, most were substituted, and the substitutes were mainly from the West Riding.

Only the 1766 and 1807 – onward Lists give the parish for the principals. The other Lists in between those years only give the parish for the substitutes.


Joseph Cawil, Aughton, servant,


George Young, East Cottingwith, labourer, substituted

John Lolly, East Cottingwith, schoolmaster, substituted


James Cawkhill, East Cottingwith, servant


George Mellard, Aughton, labourer


John Dunn, Aughton; Benjamin Calvert substitute

John Robinson, Laytham; John Watson substitute

Richard Cook, East Cottingwith; Thomas Bentley substitute


John Gell, Laytham, Thomas Hudson of Bramley substitute


Robert Hunter, East Cottingwith

Wm Williamson, Aughton

John Sherburn, East Cottingwith

Wm Stephenson, Aughton


Wm Smith, Aughton

John Tasker, East Cottingwith